

IAPSO Awards

The IAPSO Award ceremony, will take place on July 12, 2019, 16:30-19:00, in room 512EF (IAPSO symposium P0).

IAPSO Prince Albert I Medal 2019



Corinne Le Quéré (France)

The Prince Albert I Medal is an award offered by the Foundation Rainier III of Monaco and IAPSO to a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to the enhancement and advancement of the physical and/or chemical sciences of the oceans. It is awarded every two years to a most prominent scientist chosen by a specially appointed IAPSO Award Committee.

Corinne Le Quéré, FRS, Professor of Climate Change Science at the University of East Anglia, United Kingdom, and Director of the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research (2011-2018), is the Prince Albert I Medal recipient 2019, for her fundamental contributions to our understanding of ocean biogeochemistry and global carbon cycling, and her work to quantify the ocean's role in the uptake of global carbon emissions.

IAPSO Early Career Scientist Medals 2019

This award honours Early Career Scientists for their outstanding research in the physical or chemical sciences of the oceans, and for their cooperation in international research. The IAPSO Early Career Scientist Medal is presented by the IAPSO President, every two years, at the biannual IAPSO Assembly. The medal was established on the occasion of the IAPSO centenary and will be presented, for the first time, during IUGG 2019. Two medals will be awarded for the event, for Physical ocean science and Chemical ocean science, respectively.

IAPSO Early Career Scientist Medal 2019 – Physical ocean science



Gerard McCarthy (Ireland)

Gerard McCarthy, Lecturer at the Irish Climate Analysis and Research Units, Maynooth University, Ireland is the recipient of the 2019 IAPSO Early Career Scientist medal in physical ocean science. This is awarded in recognition of his outstanding contribution to research on the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation and its role in Earth's climate system.



Mar Benavides (France)

Mar Benavides, Scientific Researcher at the French National Research Institute for Sustainable Development, Mediterranean Institute of Oceanography, Marseille, France is the recipient of the 2019 IAPSO Early Career Scientist medal in chemical ocean science. This is awarded in recognition of her development of original strategies, integrating disciplines, to introduce a novel and comprehensive oceanographic approach to nitrogen cycling research.